2/3/2021 Update: The State of Maine has decided to extend the deadline for dog licensure in 2021 to June 2, 2021. Late fees may be charged after that date. View the Executive Order by Clicking Here.
All dogs six months and older are required to be licensed by Maine State Statute.
Online dog registrations are available from October 15th to January 31st of each year. You may register online by visiting https://www1.maine.gov/cgi-bin/online/dog_license/index.pl
New dog licenses and renewals can, also, be obtained at the City Clerk’s Office, Monday – Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. It is highly recommended that you provide proof of the rabies vaccination. We cannot discount for a spayed/neutered dog without proof from your veterinarian. Fee for spayed/neutered dogs, $6.00, Intact dogs, $11.00
If you are unable to come to the office during office hours, you may send us your dog's current State of Maine rabies/altering certificates along with a check payable to the City of Bath. We will process your license and mail the certificate and dog tag to you.
Dog licensing runs on a calendar year, expiring on December 31st of each year. You may renew your dog license anytime between October 15th and January 31st. You must renew your dog license no later than January 31st of each year, or a $25.00 late fee will be charged, plus registration fee. The late fee is a state imposed fee and no municipality has authorization to waive this fee.