Mystery author Paul Doiron visit

Date: February 19, 2014
Time: 6:30 PM - 8:00 PM
33 Summer St
Bath, Maine 04530

 Edgar Award Nominated author and Editor Emeritus of Down East magazine Paul Doiron will speak at Patten Free Library in Bath on Wednesday, February 19 at 6:30pm. Doiron is the author of the bestselling Mike Bowditch series of crime novels, including Massacre Pond and The Poacher's Son. The event is free and open to the public; Bath Book Shop will handle sales.

Doiron’s debut The Poacher's Son won the Barry Award and the Strand Critics Award for Best First Novel and was nominated for an Edgar Award, an Anthony Award, a Macavity Award, and a Thriller Award for Best First Novel, and the Maine Literary Award for "Best Fiction of 2010." PopMatters named it to its Best Fiction of 2010 list. His second book in the Mike Bowditch series, Trespasser, won the Maine Literary Award for crime fiction, was an American Booksellers Association Indie Bestseller and has been called a "masterpiece of high-octane narrative" by Booklist. The third novel, Bad Little Falls, was a Bookscan Bestseller and a nominee for the RT Reviewers Choice Award and the Maine Literary Award. Massacre Pond, the fourth in the series, was an Indie Next pick and an Indie Favorite, as well as a Bookscan Bestseller.

The Mike Bowditch novels have been translated into ten languages. The UK editions are published by Constable & Robinson.

Doiron is Editor Emeritus of Down East: The Magazine of Maine, having served as Editor in Chief from 2005 to 2013, before stepping down to write full time. A native of Maine, he attended Yale University, where he graduated with a degree in English, and he holds an MFA in creative writing from Emerson College. He is a former member of the Maine Arts Commission and a current member of the Maine Humanities Council. Paul is a Registered Maine Guide specializing in fly fishing and outdoor recreation and lives on a trout stream in coastal Maine.
The Bangor Daily News named Paul Doiron one of its 12 Mainers to Watch in 2012.