To register your vehicle, you must bring the following information:
New Residents or Vehicles with Out-of-State Registrations
In addition to the documents listed above please also bring:
Online Registration Renewals
Motor Vehicle Excise Taxes
Excise Tax is an annual tax that must be paid prior to registering a vehicle. Except for a few statutory exemptions, all vehicles registered in the State of Maine are subject to the excise tax. Excise Tax is defined by State Statute as a tax levied annually for the privilege of operating a motor vehicle or camper trailer on the public ways.
The excise tax is calculated by multiplying the MSRP of the vehicle by the corresponding years mil rate shown below:
|Year 1||.0240 mils|
|Year 2||.0175 mils|
|Year 3||.0135 mils|
|Year 4||.0100 mils|
|Year 5||.0065 mils|
|Year 6+||.0040 mils|
For example a two year old car with a MSRP of $25,000 would be charged a mil rate of .0175 equalling an excise bill of $437.50 or ($25,000 x .0175 = $437.50).
For more information please see the Maine Revenue Services website.
If you have any questions, please call the office at (207) 443-8340.