All dogs 6 months and older must have a license. If you become the owner of a dog 6 months or older, the dog must be licensed by January of each year. In order to obtain a license for your dog, the owner must present a current State of Maine Rabies Certificate obtained from a veterinarian. This certificate will verify that your dog has received its rabies shot within the past two years. All dog licenses expire December 31 of each year. Renewal of licenses for the following year can be done at the City Clerk's Office beginning October 15th of each calendar year.
Also, bring with you proof if a veterinarian has issued a written certificate stating the dog(s) is incapable of producing young by spaying or neutering. If you have already shown proof to the City Clerk's Office, then additional proof is not necessary.
Dog License Fees:
· $6.00 per year for spayed/neutered dogs
· $11.00 per year for dogs not spayed/neutered
Per state law, any dog license that is re-licensed after January 31 will be subject to a $25.00 late fee plus regular licensing fee.
To receive a license for your dog, please come into the City Clerk's Office at City Hall during our business hours which are Monday-Friday, 8:30am - 4:30pm. You may also re-license your dog through the mail. Our mailing address is City Clerk's Office, 55 Front Street, Bath, Maine 04530. You must send a copy of a current, State of Maine rabies certificate, along with a check payable to the "City of Bath" for the appropriate fee, and we will process the license and return the material to you.
Because rabies is a serious problem in the State, please take the time to protect your pet against this deadly virus. If an animal is suspected of having rabies, they are quarantined. If during this time, the signs of rabies still appear, the only way to test an animal for rabies is to euthanase the animal. Please don't let this happen to your pet.